Shu Uemura eyelash curler review

 

Shu Uemura the iconic cult eyelash curler that’s part of every top makeup artist’s backstage kit. It always seems to pop up in every magazine interview with a beauty editor or celebrity in their “dessert island top ten” all swearing they couldn’t live without it. I was intrigued, but until last year noone stocked Shu Uemura in Ireland, so I couldn’t judge for myself.

My eyelashes are long but ridiculously straight and stubborn. They just don’t curl!! So if this curler worked it would be my saviour! I’ve tried other eyelash curlers before but they always seem to give that “90 degree angle” look like your lashes got caught in a door, and then shortly afterwards, they smooth right out. And if that wasn’t bad enough, the handle of the curler itself always seems to break because it’s just not designed to withstand pressure.

So you can only believe my excitement last year when I heard that not only were they being stocked in Ireland, they were going to have a full concession (a store within a store) in Brown Thomas! Yaaay! I was probably their first customer and definitely the one with the biggest smile when I was handed this little badboi for the not bad at all price of 22 euro. I practically skipped down Grafton Street- like a kid out of Smiths on their birthday!

I couldn’t wait to get it home and try it out! I slipped it out of its silver box and inside was this little beauty, along with two silicone pads, and instructions for use. Getting excited!! So I gave this little beauty a  go on my lashes for the recommended 30 seconds as per the instructions it came with, and then- wow! It actually looked like my eyelashes were naturally curly! And they stayed that way! Success!! I’d never maroon myself on an island without these either!

This curlers strength comes from the silicone pads. They bounce right back and keep their shape after each use. The tool itself is also shaped in such a way that it mimics the shape of a natural lash curl, which suits almost all eye shapes including my huge big tennis ball eyes!! The handle of the tool is also a superior design- its built to last, and to put just the right amount of pressure on the lashes without breaking. I’ve had it over a year and it’s just as great as the day I bought it! One of my best beauty buys! Couldn’t recommend it enough!

3 thoughts on “Shu Uemura eyelash curler review

  1. ~ Thanks for this great post!….
    I am always looking for tips about eyelashes, mascara, as I have really such super straight lashes and when a curl lasts makes my eyes look bigger and gorgeous..

    I so love sharing with others about great products I have tried ~ The best ever“ eyelash curler I have ever found is the Hot Lashes eyelash curler, makeup Artist kit. Loved the reviews on Amazon and was impressed. There is also a site of the same name HotLashes.com.

    This curler is exactly like the gold Shu Uemura curler with a great 24K gold plated curler and this small pink heater base. Keeps my straight lashes curling till the next day….and no crimp, only a curl..I so HTH~

Leave a Reply

