Neon Lips

neon lips collage

Seen everywhere on the SS13 catwalks! Makeup is going Technicolor this season! The best three to showcase neon lips were Giles, Holly Fulton and Missoni. Have no fear, these neon brights, are very wearable and flattering on all skin tones from ebony to ivory.
The two most on-trend shades you should focus on are neon pink and neon orange. Iv tried out both of them and they actually looked great! I thought they would wash me out or clash horribly with my skin tone but they actually brought out the warmth in my skin and highlighted its softness and made my lips look bigger. These shades would also be great for deflecting attention away from dark circles because they give a warm healthy glow to the complexion and distract attention away from your eyes to your lips.

Makeup artist Lucia Pieroni backstage at Giles used MAC lipstick in ‘Girl About Town’ for that perfect hot pink. And at Missoni she used MAC Pro Fuscia, Orange and White Lipmix together for a strong, vivid coral. She also blended in MAC Pro Red Electric Pigment to get that neon finish.

But for my pics I just used Bourjois ” Rouge edition in 07 Fuchsia graffiti” 10:99 and Catrice “Ultimate Colour in 060 Oh Juicy!” 4:99, because I was too lazy to head down to BT’s in the rain, so I just got these in my local chemist, because I had to go there anyway.
Neither brand has been on my radar when it came to lipstick, but I’m glad I gave them a whirl because they’re both great! (there’s something to be said for the limited choices of a local chemist) They were actually better than the MAC ones used backstage because I find them too drying. These babies gave a moisturizing yet petal-soft matte finish. They also stayed put reasonably well – about 7 hours on me anyway. Definitely something you could safely “recession swap” without suffering a great drop in quality.

031048

Leave a Reply

