Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish hot cloth cleanser Review

liz-earle-cleanse-polish-hot-cloth-cleanser

I so wanted to like this product! It’s an ‘iconic’ product. The kind that always seems to be getting rave reviews from beauty editors and makeup artists, so I fully expected to like it too, given I’ve had such great luck in the past with such things- Hello Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour cream. So I got the big 200ml starter kit with the two muslin cloths from Wilde and Greene in Stevens Green, for 31 euro, totally convinced this would become a dessert island essential. But, yeh, this one was a flop. And I was devo!

It’s 100% natural product that’s against animal testing. Nice, but those credentials don’t always equal a good product. It’s made of eucalyptus, cocoa butter, beeswax, glycerine, vitamin B5, rosemary and camomile. It sounds like the perfect thing for dry skin types, but they market it as being suitable for all skin types (a red flag! This usually means not suitable for any skin type) Having wonder product credentials, it claims to gently cleanse, remove all makeup (even a heavy smoky eye) gentle exfoliate and polish with the muslin cloth, and leave skin clearer, smoother and more radiant.

But like I said- it’s a flop. I smoothed it onto dry skin and wrung out the cloth after soaking it in hand hot water, and gently smoothed it over my face gently sloffing everything off. Or so I thought! It didn’t even come close to removing all my mascara, and mother of mercy, the muslin cloth is actually quite abrasive, which I wasn’t expecting!! Even though I still had panda eye I didn’t want to chance a second round on my eye area with that ruffian of a cloth! It’s good they give two cloths, because makeup doesn’t wash out of it unless you put it in the washing machine. But this is a double edged sword because it just gets rougher after each wash! My poor face! I cried. It’s getting bullied by a muslin cloth!!

Most of all, what convinced me this wasn’t so Shangri la, was that a month into using it, my skin was exactly the same! I wouldn’t say it was any worse than before, but it just wasn’t any better. It reminded me a little of Lush Ultra-bland, in that it just doesn’t do anything either way, good or bad. Like I said, I really wanted to love this, and to give it rave reviews too, but, this is just not good enough to rave about. It basically just an intense moisturiser and exfoliator- noting new, and nothing special…again, I’m devo!

Leave a Reply

