Ooh lala Style and Beauty Blog Awards 2013

1 a its party time

I was invited to the launch party for Irelands hottest new fashion magazine “OOhlala magazine”, on Tuesday. Forget about the “parochial Irish fashion magazines” you’ve read before, with ads for folic acid tablets, and ringworm cream, oohlala magazine is a whole other species! It’s 100% high fashion 100% style – very international flavour, but not isolating to Irish readers. It’s kind of like POP magazine meets Vogue.
So it was no surprise that when they threw a party to celebrate the launch of the magazine, and their 2013 Style and Beauty Blog Awards, they didn’t do anything by half measures!

The party was in 37 on Dawson Street which is a seriously cool cocktail bar with a hipster rusti-glam vibe! I walked in through the curtained off area and was met with the sound of “Otto knows-Million voices”, a seriously cool goodie bag (that I’ll blog about in another post), and a seriously stylish and pretty crowd. I kind of felt like l was on an episode of “The Hills”- minus the catfights.

Next I headed to the covergirl photo op board, so you might see me in the next issue. They also had a manicure station from best in the biz –Tropical-Popical which was free and out of this world- I got a seriously cool azure blue with a ciate caviar style feature nail (which I’ll blog about later)

I also got a second chance to see the Penney’s/Primark AW 12 collection, in a runway show. Yours truly found the way to the FROW and was right up close to Irish supermodel Thalia Heffernan who is even more beautiful up close! and super nice too- I wobbled in my skyscraper heels later on in the night, and she stopped me from falling.

The show was also in association with LA College of creative arts, and they did the styling and production stuff backstage, and hair and makeup which was flawless.

I didn’t win any of the awards, but I was so delighted to see one of my favourite bloggers Leanne Woodfull of thunder and threads won Blogger of the year Award. And her prize was (jello to the max) getting to go to fashion week with Oohlala as a fashion correspondent, a column in Ooh lala for 1 year, and a pro blogging course at LA College of creative arts to help take her blog to the next level and maybe become the next Bryan boi. I’m actually delighted for her, because she deserves it so much, and her blog is so good.

My pictures are not the best, because my camera lens cracked, and then my iphone died (without a camera I almost feel like I’ve left my soul behind in the taxi, or like, forgot to put on underwear or something) so I only had a couple of images to work with from the beginning of the night, and the rest of the night will have to live on, in fashion memory.

But enough of my moaning! The best thing about the whole night was that it shows that even though we are in a recession the Irish fashion scene is really coming into its own and not just surviving but thriving. There are so many talented people out there and its great that a magazine like oohlala is giving them the place to shine!

One thought on “Ooh lala Style and Beauty Blog Awards 2013

  1. Sounds like a super night. I was really looking forward to it, but due to unforeseen circumstances I had to cancel at the last minute. Really annoying, as I just knew it was going to be a cool event! So c’mon, tell us about the goodie bag 🙂

Leave a Reply

