Behind the scenes at Shutterbug vintage Kilo Sale

kilo sale picphoto (54)

photo (53)

I’m back! Ive been busy the past month doing exams, but they finally finished yesterday. So I’m going to update you all on what I’ve been up to in the mean time, but hav’nt had time to blog about.

My first port of call is the Shutterbug Vintage Kilo Sale last month. It was an intense experience! Vintage shoppers are the most ruthless and discerning of all shoppers, and when you have an incentive like “1 Kilo of clothes, for €20 first come first serve”….well that draws out the cream of the crop! There is no chit chat at this kind of thing, or politely waiting for someone to get out of the way, and there is definitely no “putting stuff down and coming back to it when you’ve had a think” because it would be gone!

That being said, it was a very trendy event. It was held in Moxy Studio’s on Lad Lane, which is a really cool “New York underground rave” style warehouse, just off Baggott Street, next to l’Ecrivain restaurant,. Everything was concrete walls and white partition panels separating the different sections. A very backstage at a fashion show vibe.

I had a bit of trouble finding it at first, but then, I saw a really chic looking girl in a maxi skirt, Jeffrey Campbell’s and a straw boating hat turning down the archway and disappearing, (Diagon Alley style) then two more just like her, and there were more at the end of the street coming my way, so the penny dropped, and I followed down the lane after them and made my way to the studio.

They had some great stuff, it was like being in a room full of throwback Thursday favourites like 90’s levis jackets, boyfriend jeans, dungarees, and 80’s sequined jackets. Most of the stuff was designer too which cant hurt. They had gorgeous Jeffrey Campbell spikey boots for around €60, vintage levis cut off shorts, and a waitcoat by Jeffrey Campbell that was to die for, but it was €230. The biggest drawback with vintage though, is that everything is one of a kind, so if they don’t have your size, you can’t buy it.
But they also had some crap too! Like puff sleeved sequin debs dresses from the 80’s, that could really only be used for firewood, and were probably only out so they could get rid of them.

I got two tartan skirts, that were made of woven lamb’s wool and just much better quality than anything I’ve seen on the highstreet. I also got two baggy 90’s style hand knitted jumpers with silk shoulder details, a mustard yellow poloneck (that my friends slagged me for, saying it looked like something I stole from Mario and Luigi and I don’t disagree now that Ive had a chance to look at it properly) and a Kenzo style evil eye hand knitted sweater. The queue was about 25 minutes long, and I actually had 2 kilos of stuff so my total was €40 which I hadn’t expected, but it worked out as just €8.20 per item and you would pay 10 times that for them on the highstreet.

Myself and my friends were so wrecked after, we actually needed a little sit down. So it was good that there were lots of food stalls in the forecourt in front, the kind you see at festivals. We stayed there for almost half an hour, gathering back our strength and showing our purchases, til we realised that only an Eddie Rockets would do, and so we headed down to the Baggott Street one and chowed down

Leave a Reply

