Clinique 3 Step Anti Blemish Solutions review

photo (116)

As all of you readers know by now, I usually have a normal to oily skin type, and only get maybe one or two spots every now and again, but otherwise my skin is clear. That was, until my skin went bananas with exam stress over the last month or two!
I was getting full blown acne, that not even my mother, (who, even if I was growing a tail, would say, “ah no sure you’re beauuuutyful” “sure arnt you totally unique, bet your friends wish they had one, its lovely!” ) could deny.

Most imperfection skincare is useless, as anyone who has ever had acne will tell you, and doesn’t even work when you have just one or two spots, let alone acne. But Clinique 3 step is different. It actually works! It’s the only product that has ever managed to turn the tide on a bad skin attack.

Ive used this on and off over the past 4 years, sometimes using it religiously for months, other times cheating on it with other products (us beauty bloggers are a fickle bunch) But this time around, I’ve been using it monogamously for a month, and my skin is clearing up rapidly!

Clinique’s simple approach is this “You start with gentle exfoliation to open clogged pores. Oxygen evicts acne-causing bacteria. Medicated ingredients rush in to accelerate treatment. Voila!—Clearer skin. The idea is to get immediate breakouts under control, then stop problems before they erupt—with a consistent, daily regimen that’s non-irritating.”
Step 1: Cleansing Foam
Lather up with this mild, medicated cleanser. Helps clear and prevent acne by removing dirt and excess oil. Unclogs pores. Calms, soothes, reduces redness. Plus, leaves skin feeling soft, smooth, comfortable.
Step 2: Clarifying Lotion
Sweeps away dead surface skin cells and excess oil that can lead to breakouts. Gentle, medicated formula exfoliates skin, unclogs pores. Helps calm, soothe irritation and redness. Oil-absorbing powders control shine.
Step 3: Clearing Moisturizer
Powerful Benzoyl Peroxide helps treat existing acne and prevent future breakouts. Lightweight, medicated formula creates an invisible,breathable barrier against acne-causing agents. Calms, soothes, reduces redness. Helps control excess oil throughout the day. Provides light hydration to minimize dryness and peeling.

Dont be fooled though when they say it’s mild, it’s actually quite strong! And in the long term can be quite drying. But they have reformulated it over the last year or so, so that it doesnt sting like mad the first few times you use it, like the old formula did. It takes maybe a month for it to fully clear your skin, but, if you stick with it, you start to see results from the first use. Some of my whoppers were half the size by the next morning it’s that effective!

But its not without its drawbacks, like I said, once your skin is cleared, and you keep using it longterm, it starts to seriously dry your skin! When this happens , the folks at clinique suggest that you just use it every second day, as maintanance, because if you stop using it entirely, well, it just comes back. And I can totally testify to that, I stopped using it for 6 months once my skin was clear, and here I am writing this post.
Also, the price is a little prohibitive at €72, but, I got mine in Boots where you can get a student discount, and get like €6 worth of points on your boots card every time so it’s not to bad when you look at it that way. Mine was €64 with the student discount in Boots Dundrum. And I can honestly say it’s the best money I have ever spent

2 thoughts on “Clinique 3 Step Anti Blemish Solutions review

  1. It really is worth it. I agree with using it every other day because I find the clarifying lotion to be the most drying out of the 3 Steps. Clinique moisturisers are so good though.

    I do like to take breaks when I finish a 3 step though incase I can’t afford to repurchase straight away and to make sure my skin doesn’t get too used to it that it stops working for me.

    Great post, will follow and hopefully I’ll be back to comment on more posts

    Kate Hurn (from Facebook)

Leave a Reply

